Three dark crowns review *SPOILERS*

img_0791-1Title: Three Dark Crowns

Author: Kendare Blake

Pages:398

Series/stand alone: series book one

POV: third split three ways

Tips/extras: book has detailed map

 Summary 

The heirs on the island of Fennbirn are always female, always have powers, and are always born in groups of three or greater. The queens are separated at age six, after that they learn how to use their powers. When they turn 16 the sisters have to fight each other for the crown.


Review *SPOILERS*

If you haven’t read this book jump down to the everyone review

I liked the ending of this book. It left me at the edge of my seat, it made me wanting more. But the beginning of the book felt more like a drawn out exposition. That doesn’t mean I didn’t like the beginning, but looking back, it lasts to long. Also, when Mirabella and Joseph got together, I was thinking why are you ruining a perfectly good relationship with a relationship with no substance?! Think about it, when have Mirabella and Joseph actually bonded through interests? All the times they’ve met they’ve made smaller talk and made out. Katherine’s and Pietyr’s relationship was similar in this way, although they actually talked more. However, I wish they talked more. In fact I wish we saw Katherine more we saw her a lot in the beginning, but then we would go many chapters without seeing her. I’m going to jump to the end of the book now. So if Arsinoe is really a poisoner will they tell Katherine? I can see how not telling her will be an advantage, but then Arsinoe won’t know anything about poisons. Also, if Arsinoe wins the people will need to know she’s a poisoner. Ughhhhh! My mind is confused and doesn’t know what to think! 😝


Everyone review 

This was a good book at the end. The beginning of the book was long, and in that weird in between phase where its not too boring but not too exciting either. Some chapters were unbearably dull, and I just wanted to know what was happening with another character.

Also, this story had some unneeded romance. I understand the author did that to add tension, but honestly I’m so over that. It’s one thing if the romance is well thought out and has substance, but it’s another thing completely if romance is added just for the sake of it. I think romance can even take away from potential character development, and it definitely did here.

Rating:

3/5 Baymaxs

Why?

While the ending was good, it’s simply not enough to make up for everything else. The author added romance where it wasn’t needed, which ending up chipping away character development. The pacing was slow, and parts of the book were boring.


That’s all for this review! I hope you all have a great day!

Hows life?

