Paperback VS Hardback

Hello everyone! I was watching book hauls and that got me thinking about hardback books and paperback books. As I which pondered over which one I prefer I decided to make a blog post about it. And see which one you guys prefer. Lets begin!

Paperbacks:

PROS

  • Cheaper
  • bendable

CONS

  • not as durable
  • wear and tear is more visible (cracks in the spine, bent covers)

Hardbacks:

PROS

  • Durable
  • more creative covers
  • longer shelve life XD see what I did there?

CONS

  • expensive
  • heavier (don’t even get me started on 600 + page books)

I know those aren’t a lot of pros and cons but I’ve come to a decision.

*Drumroll please* 

I think that.  .  . hardbacks are better than paperbacks! Hardbacks are much sturdier than paperbacks, and I feel a lot better about lending them out. When I lend out paperbacks I see all these cracks in the spine and think ‘were these here before???’ That being said, sometimes when I want a newly released book I make myself wait for the paperback copy. Like I said, I love hardbacks, more so than paperbacks, but hardbacks are so expensive! Usually when I buy hardbacks I have a gift card, or the book is discounted. now that I’m thinking about it, I think I only bought three hardbacks full price. Yes you read that right.  They are:

A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J Maas

The One by Kierra Cass

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling

I don’t have many  hardbacks to begin with but the rest were either gifts, paid for with gift cards, or discounted. I used to buy books at the library, and all the hardbacks were 3 dollars. Anyway, I love hardbacks but usually end up getting paperbacks 😛

 

 

 

 

 

Hows life?

