Lady Midnight book review

25494343.jpg

Pages: 698

Author: Cassandra Clare

Series/stand alone: Series, The Dark Artifices book 1

Tips/extras: Lady Midnight is apart of the shadow hunter world. It takes place five years after the events of City of Heavenly Fire. I suggest reading The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series before reading this.

 

 

 

 

Summary

Summary from Goodreads (I shortened it because there were spoilers)

In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed.

Review:

~This review contains spoilers, if you do not want to be spoiled scroll down to the Everyone Review~

 I really wanted to know more about Jace, Clary, and everyone in TMI. There would brief mentions of the characters from TMI in Lady Midnight, but I always wanted to know more. I wanted to dig deeper. Jace and Clary run the New York institute but what does Jocelyn think of this? I don’t know, there was no mention of that. Cassandra Clare put an extra short story in her first editions about the characters from TMI but there was no mention of Jocelyn. There  was a brief mention of Luke, Maia, Bat, Lily, etc. I was happy that we saw Mark again. However, I still wanted to see Clary Jace, and everyone else. Whenever I character would be surprised I would think, are Clary/Jace here? Some parts of this book were boring for me, and let I kept reading. I have to admit towards the end this book got a lot better. I started liking the characters 100%. And there was a lot going on, it was great! I think I really just wasn’t used to the characters and it bothered me that we were focusing on a whole new cast of characters. I did have some questions when reading this book:

How do they have so much money?

I know they get paid to be shadowhunters but how did the kids get there hands on it? Julian bought Ty a computer, and they probably bought a car too.

Theres another Herondale?!

Okay, I liked this part of the book. It reminded me of her other books (because it was so good). I love how Cassandra Clare will start a book with something that won’t fully make sense towards the end. I mean Kit was in some other scenes but it wasn’t till the end that we really saw his importance in the book.

Is Church immortal?

This question might sound silly but think about it. I originally thought that the Church in TMI wasn’t the same Church from TID but just another cat named Church. But Church is a cat that doesn’t get along with anyone but Jem. Church also lived with Magnus for a while so its possible Magnus made him immortal some how. Unless Church is a warlock in disguise? This may seem unimportant but I really want to know. I always just thought the Church from TMI wasn’t the same Church from TID.

Everyone Review:

I liked this book. I didn’t like this book as much as the others tough. I really just missed some of the characters from TMI. However, the book got better as it progressed. I really fell in love with the characters more. I would recommend this book to you if you really liked Emma and Julian from TMI. I would also recommend it if you are already familiar with the shadowhunter world. If you like fantasy, warlocks, vampires, werewolves, fae, and people who kill demons then I would suggest reading City of Bones. Its by the same author and has some of the same characters as Lady Midnight does.

Rating:

4/5 Baymaxs

I would have liked to see more characters from TMI, and it took me a while to warm up to new characters. When I did warm up to the main characters, however, I really enjoyed the book. The end had so many amazing twists and I loved it.

 

Hows life?

