A Court of Mist and Fury review ~Spoilers~

imgres-6Title: A Court Of Mist And Fury

Author: Sarah J Maas

Pages: 624

Series/Standalone: Series book two

Extras/tips: the book has a map, also if you buy a copy at Target you get a bonus chapter.


Summary:

Caution! This summary spoils book one in this series, if you have not read book one/know what book ones about please read book ones summary.

BOOK ONES SUMMARY

The following summary is from Goodreads:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


Review with spoilers

If you haven’t read this book yet (which I highly recommend) and don’t want to be spoiled then you can skip to the everyone review. 

This book, where do I begin! In the first book Feyre worked so hard to build this relationship with Tamlin, just to have it torn apart in book two! I remember seeing fan art of Rhysand and Feyre together before reading this book and being so disgusted. But now I hate Tamlin! I feel like Sarah J Maas just wanted us to hate Tamlin. That or she wanted us to feel all the feels. Imagine:

Sarah [typing ACOTAR] : When Feyre meets Rhysand she’ll think he’s so handsome. She’ll think he’s a solid 10 while Tamlin’s just a 7.5.

Sarah[typing ACOMAF] : I need to break my fans hearts, and fill them with rage. I’ll just make Tamlin an awful villain, I never liked him much anyway. Seriously, all those times people shipped Tamlin and Feyre online I wanted to gag. So instead of Tamlin Feyre will be with Rhysand. I was always fond of this ‘Rhysand’ character, I knew I put him in my story for some reason.

See what I mean? Anyway, Tamlin had it coming to him. He totally ingored her too. She was getting thinner, she didn’t paint anymore, and she slept all day. If you can’t reconize the signs then you are the worst boyfriend ever. Rhysand really is a better choice for Feyre. I liked when he was teaching her to read.

Rhysand is the most handsome High Lord.

Rhysand is the most delightful High Lord.

Rhysand is the most cunning High Lord.

Rhysand is so funny, and yet he’s so much more than funny. He accepts that Feyre is her own person and despite what he may think is best for her, she will make her own choices. Tamlin just locked her up and told her to wear pretty dresses. While Rhysand let Feyre be her own person. He sacrifed so much for his people and his family, but no one outside the night court really knows that. He’s forced to but on the face of the ‘bad guy’ but really he’s just this complex character doing his best to stop a war. I loved how Rhysand’s court became Feyre’s new family, and Velaris her new home. When Tamlin didn’t listen to Feyre’s letter that made me so upset. That was the problem with their relationship in the first place! Tamlin doesn’t realize that by not listening to Feyre he’s just creating more problems in their relationship. Tamlin and Lucien think that Rhysand is playing tricks on Feyre’s mind but they don’t even know anything about Rhysand! Lucien should have intervened before Tamlin locked Feyre up. But no, he’s way to loyal that he wouldn’t dare disobey Tamlin. Tamlin is so stupid! He makes a deal with the king of Hybern (does the king of Hybern even have a name?) which is one of the stupidest ideas ever! Tamlin he is the enemy don’t listen to him. Also, I wish the night court could’ve been friends witgh the summer court. They were the only court that actually wanted to be allies with the night court. Even though Elain and Nesta were captured against their will and turned into Fae, I think thats good because now Feyre will always be with her sisters. But it was really awful they were captured. Elain and Lucien are mates! They will be cute together. I don’t think Lucien would lock Elain up, but I am worried that he won’t let her out of his sight. Rhysand and Feyre are mates too! I must say Feyre learned they were mates in one of the worst ways possible. When Ryhsand was taken and Feyre went into hunting mode was so cute, in a weird morbid way. She went in there and just killed all those people! But most importantly, she saved Rhysand! I think its funny how when Feyre stayed in that safe cabin she offered Rhysand food without knowing the importance of the gesture.

Who had sacrificed and wrecked himself for him family, his people, and didn’t feel it was enough, that he wasn’t enough for anyone

And then he tells Feyre everything, and Feyre accepts being his mate. I really want to see what kind of powers their kids will have. I hope there’s talk of Feyre and Rhys having kids in the next book. Not just in an epilogue either, no I’m talking about her getting pregnant in the book. That probably won’t happen though. Can we talk about how Feyre is a high lady?! Oh my G-O-S-H! (That was a Lego movie reference). Tamlin you’re so stupid! XD  You are willingly letting the enemy in your home. Feyre is not yours she is Rhysand’s mate and the night courts high lady. I don’t think Tamlin knows how things work, he thinks that you can just destroy a mating bond. All the king did was destroy their deal. Rhysand and Feyre can’t communicate as well as before mentally. I wonder if Feyre writes on a piece of paper if it will disappear and go to Rhysand. Hmmmm. . . I hope that Tamlin doesn’t try to propose to Feyre while she’s at the sprig court. If he did I wonder what Feyre would do. Surely you can’t be a high lady of one court and consort of another? I don’t know I guess I’ll just have to wait and see! Oh and I almost forgot! Feyre has a human heart, but what does that mean exactly? In ACOTAR Tamlin had a heart made of stone, but it seemed like he was the only one that had a heart made of stone. Besides, when Feyre stapped those two Fae in the heart they died, but Tamlin healed. I wonder if by human heart they just mean she can’t stomach a whole bunch of gore/killing people. I guess I’m being silly but in the book there are times when they make it sound like Feyre is the only one with a ‘human heart’. They make it sound like her heart is the only one that beats. You know what never mind. I’m pretty sure human heart just means can’t stomach killing people.


Everyone Review

This book was eventful, and funny, and sweet and crazy. In other words it was great. This book was a lot better than A Court Of Thorns And Roses. I would suggest this book if you’ve read ACOTAR and liked it. I would also suggest this book to fantasy lovers (just read the first book first 😉  )  and maybe even new readers. However, if you’re a new reader note that while Maas’s books are very good they tend to get very lengthy.

My Rating:

xJX7ddz_Fotor_Fotor_Collage_Fotor

Why?

This book was very good. It had fantasy, adventure, romance, funny parts, and serious parts. This is one of those books were after I read it I just sat there and thought about everything I just read. Every part of the book was important. This book explained the reasons characters did things, and just how complex some characters were. Going into this book I was afraid it would be a love triangle, but it wasn’t not at all. Thats what was great about this book, it tested relationships and how well people really knew each other.


Thats all for now bye! No this is not a part of Harry Potter month but no need to fear Harry Potter themed posts will be back tomorrow morning!

Update: Upon posting this I got a message saying this was my 200th post! I want to thank you guys for your support. Without you I would’ve never gotten to 200 posts. Also I find ironic that a book review is my 200th post seeing as I don’t post them often. Anyway, thanks! ^.^

2 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury review ~Spoilers~

Hows life?

