The Heir review ~spoilers~

22918050-1.jpg

Title: The Heir

Author: Kiera Cass

Pages:  342

Series/stand alone: Series book 4

Publisher: HarperTeen

 


Summary (from Goodreads):

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought


My thoughts ~SPOILERS~

If you haven’t read this book an intend on doing so please skip to the Everyone Review


Okay I’m starting now so if you haven’t read this book you’ll be spoiled.

Where do I start? I liked this book, but the more I think about it I realize it could have been better.

  • One: it was basically the Selection but from the POV of the heir. I mean think about it in the Selection America offered to be Maxon’s friend. Ean does the same.  Also in the Selection theres Aspen who is just a guard and not involved in any of this. In the Heir there is Erik, a translator. In the Selection America’s dad dies and Maxon’s parents die. In the Heir America has a heart attack, and could possibly die. The Selection has Celeste, and the Heir has Josie.
  • Two: the ending felt rushed. There was to much going on at the end. I get it, you want to end in a cliff hanger so people will want to read the next book. But I think it would be better if the action was spaced out evenly.
  • Three: I kind of like Josie. Yes at first I hated her. But when Kile talked about how his sister lives in Eadlyn’s shadow I stopped hatting her as much. I mean she lives in a castle with the royal family and yet she isn’t the least bit related to them. Her parents don’t even hold an important title. No wonder Josie just wants to feel like a princess.
  • Four: these books make me laugh so hard. I feel like they are a guilty pleasure read.
  • Five: this book was a little predictable. I figured Kile would be picked for the Selection as soon as we met him.

Everyone Review:

I admit, I liked this book. If you read the Selection and liked it then you should read this. If you didn’t like the Selection don’t read this. I liked the series a lot and would recommend it to people that like romance books and action books too.  You can read the Heir before reading the Selection, it doesn’t really matter. However, if you decide to read the Selection first you must read the rest of the series in order.

The Selection

The Elite

The One

The Heir

The Crown


Rating:

4/5 Baymaxs

Why?

This is a great story if you don’t think about it to much. The ending was a bit rushed and the story was quite similar to the Selection. I’m just going to leave it with that and stop thinking about it to much 😉


Hi book trolls! I hoped you liked my review, I’m sorry I haven’t done one in a while. You might see more reviews though because I read 9 books this month! Also, I’m going away next week so I probably won’t blog as much. I’ll try to schedule posts though, because July is Harry Potter month! Yay! Well at least its HP month on my blog. Anyway, bye!

Hows life?

