Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

As I’m guessing you know by now, this is a review. I’m going to try and do reviews about once a month or maybe twice 😉 Regardless, I would like to make more reviews in general they just take. So. Much. Time! This is a 3:30 post so of course its scheduled, in case you don’t know that excellent timing to my posts is due to the fact that I scheduled them in advance. Anyway, as I’m sure you know I started this review a while back but then I lost it. If you didn’t know then well now you do. Before we start, I’d like to mention that with reviews I might make them spoiler-ish but I’ll also include a review for everyone at the end of the review. I also decide that since no one wants to read a page long review I’ll break it up in sections and each section will be in bold text, so you can easily scroll and read what you want. Now, after much talking we shall begin. 

LightningThief2014

Title: Percy Jackson and the , the Lightning Thief

Author: Rick Riordan

Pages: 416 pages

My edition: Paperback

Publisher: Disney

Series/standalone: Series first of five

Extras/tips: Read this book first please don’t read the third book first!

Summary from Amazon-yes I know, I know, thats of cheating or thats what I think anyway but I’m rushing here. I’m writing this in September after all. . .

After getting expelled from yet another school for yet another clash with mythological monsters only he can see, twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is taken to Camp Half-Blood, where he finally learns the truth about his unique abilities: He is a demigod, half human, half immortal.  There’s little time to process this news. All too soon, a cryptic prophecy from the Oracle sends Percy on his first quest, a mission to the Underworld to prevent a war among the gods of Olympus.

I had to take out a line in there because it was slightly spoiler-ish. Keep reading for the review.

REVIEW WARNING SPOILERS:

Percy’s father: well I watched the movie in sixth grade so I kind of already knew who his father was. I mean the line I had to take out of the Amazon summary said who’s his father was so its not that surprising. I did like all of his powers and stuff. I liked when he was first claimed by Poseidon and the hellhound had just attacked him. Percy’s just standing in the water so confused, thinking he did something wrong for healing but he’s really Poseidon’s son.

Annabeth: I liked Annabeth, she was strong, and wise. I like how see was always waiting for a quest. So sometimes she would be really nice to Percy and other times she would just kind of ignore him. I thought it was a tad mean of her to put Percy in such a terrible position in capture the flag though.

Grover: I liked Grover but I feel as though we didn’t get to really meet him. We just learned, oh this is Grover he’s Percy’s friend. Ommm. . . okay.

Luke: Again I saw the movie before reading this so I knew that Luke was going to be evil, but I really didn’t except it to happen when it did. I was just like O My G-O-S-H! Lego movie references, if you don’t know.

Tartartus and Grover: I must admit I was extremely surprised when that happened. I watched the movie a while ago so I don’t know if that was in the movie, but regardless I thought that part of the book was done really well. I felt so nervous for Grover even though he’s not my favorite character. I mean I still like Grover as a character.

Percy and Hades and the bolt: When percy opened his backpack in front of hades I was just thinking what, what, what, what?! Plot twist, dun, dun, dun! I liked that part too actually. They described Hades really well in my opinion.

Ares, Percy, and the bolt: Ares I have to give some credit for his creativity there. He disguised the bolt as a backpack, send Percy and his friends to Hades and almost got them killed. Almost. Not bad, although Percy is so much better then you. When they fought each other, wow, just wow, all the emotions going.

Percy and Annabeth on Ares mission: When Percy, Annabeth, and Grover went to retrieve Ares shield and Percy and Annabeth got stuck in that trap I was all like GASP! No, no just kidding. But when Percy brought the ocean towards him-or whatever he did- it was so cool! That was a very good part in this book for me.

Theres so much more I want to touch on but that would take forever so I’ll stop. If you want me to touch on something that I didn’t feel free to say so in the comments so I can add it ^.^ Now to the final review

 THE EVERYONE REVIEW:

This book deserves 5/5 baymaxs! It was very good. It was written well and out had a lot of awesome action in it. It might seem long but you’ll breeze through it ^.^  The print is larger for those of you tat aren’t really a fan of reading, and it also has larger spaces. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone in any age, its an easy read and very action packed so you won’t regret it.

xJX7ddz_Fotor_Fotor_Collage_Fotor

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

    • lucia says:

      I have watched the movies! Everyone says the Sea of Monsters movie was terrible but I remember liking it-its been a while. I do feel slightly bad that I watched the movies before reading the books. i also feel bad that I haven’t picked up book 5 yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lucia says:

        I thought the same thing, although, like I said, I saw the movie a while ago. So past me might have thought it was good but not current me. Regardless, I’m glad to see that you liked the movie! ^.^

        Like

Hows life?

